Sunset. (Excerpt 10,000 Sleepless Nights)

WP_001674 (2)

by Sam Bailey, on Thursday, June 17, 2010

There are no rays of sun that fall upon me this day, for my life is beset with a bleakness that hides hope and forgiveness in the blackest shadows of the coming storm. There is no sign of shelter in the distance, and my thoughts swirl about like stinging sand caught up in a gale. I plod on with a stride that’s a mixture of a anxious shuffle, and a resigned gate fit for the gallows. There is no promise of warmth waiting, no solace of a certain destination, filled with warmth and laughter, to mark my arrival, or this journeys end.
Yet.. even amidst the foreground of this maelstrom, this certain reckoning of all that I have said and done… there is a moment where I see something that steals fate’s grim reverie..
beyond all imagining.. beyond our unrelenting despair.. just before the night of my dreams comes upon me.. I see the shinning light of the future..
Beneath the storm of Me and  before the dark takes hold.. the light breaks free and washes over me.
The sunset, shows its beauty, forgiveness, redemption, and peace.
So I wait for that moment.. knowing this time may end.. but there is still a light to guide us out there.

One thought on “Sunset. (Excerpt 10,000 Sleepless Nights)

  1. Pingback: A memory of wounds…Let it rain.(Excerpt From 10,000 Sleepless Nights) | What Say you

Leave a Reply

