A Lost City Found.. Cambodia reveals her past, Star Trek style.

The USS Enterprise - a well known fictional st...

The USS Enterprise – a well known fictional starship (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am space faring archeologist in spirit.

Like so many who would have watched Indiana Jones as a child, I was mesmerized at the ideas of discovering forgotten treasures and lost cities, and waylaying a bad guy or two while I was at it.

As I grew into a adult, I realized that real “archeology” is something much more mundane, but no less important, for we can better know who we are, by who we have been. This applies to all mankind.

I watched Star Trek as a kid as well, and took from it the same wonder that comes from the unknown becoming known, to explore and discover… and waylaying a few extraterrestrial bad guys along the way!

So I was quite thrilled and more than a little bit nostalgic when I saw this Story

http://www.smh.com.au/world/revealed-a-lost-city-and-a-holy-temple-20130614-2o9ds.html

I implore anybody reading this to take the time to read the whole story and watch the video. The use of LIDAR made this discovery possible.

* Lidar uses ultraviolet, visible, or near infrared light to image objects and can be used with a wide range of targets, including non-metallic objects, rocks, rain, chemical compounds, aerosols, clouds and even single molecules.[2] A narrow laser beam can be used to map physical features with very high resolution

(*) Info courtesy of .http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lidar#History_and_etymology_of_lidar.2FLIDAR

So just like a scan ordered from the bridge of NCC -1701- A(My favorite rendition of the Enterprise) a city lost to the jungles of the Cambodian mountains is revealed, and a marvelous window in our past is opened anew.

I hope you take the time like I did to read and learn from this story, and I hope that, like me, you rediscover the wonders of childhood, the past, and the future, all at once.

raiders-of-the-lost-ark-imax

Leave a Reply

