Life in So many boxes…(Excerpt from 10,000 Sleepless Nights)

Taken The day this was written.

Taken the day this was written.

by Sam Bailey (Notes) on Monday, March 23, 2009

 

I gathered my material life unto Me yesterday…. Or more to the Point, my life, as it may be known in the books, sentiments, and sundries that gives an external measure of Us, as it lay heaped in so many boxes.
As an undertaking.. it was an act required,  but as an event so profound, so much memory haphazardly piled as life’s refuse, wore on my soul…
In the quest to determine who I am, I was forced to reflect on all that had defined me thus far…
Boxes of things, so carelessly strewn about.

This writing “event” was created on the day I gathered my belongings from what had been my home, and was the first moment that I truly realized I was entering into the realm of divorce. It remains one of the most profound moments of writing I have ever been part of, and even as I share it now, I still feel it keenly.

 

Leave a Reply

